2023 Subgrant Awards to Wisconsin Certified Local Governments | Wisconsin Historical Society

General Information

2023 Subgrant Awards to Wisconsin Certified Local Governments

2023 Subgrant Awards to Wisconsin Certified Local Governments | Wisconsin Historical Society

The State Historic Preservation Office has awarded $144,500 in federal Historic Preservation Fund subgrants to five Wisconsin Certified Local Governments (CLGs) for 2023. These funds were provided to the State Historic Preservation Office by the Department of the Interior, National Park Service. Compliance with all applicable laws, rules and regulations (federal, state and local) is required by CLGs and any consultants hired to complete these subgrant projects. 

The CLGs listed below will initiate a Request for Bids from qualified consultants with experience in Wisconsin historic preservation who meet the professional qualifications set forth in the Code of Federal Regulations 36 CFR 61, Appendix A, the Secretary of the Interior's "Standards for Archaeology and Historic Preservation." The work is to be started following a signed contract between the CLG and the consultant and must be completed by August 2024. 

2023 Funded Subgrant Projects

Intensive and Reconnaissance Surveys:

  • City of Reedsburg, Sauk County: citywide survey up to $32,000
  • City of Green Bay, Brown County: intensive survey of historic buildings up to $25,000

National Register of Historic Places Nominations:

  • Janesville, Rock County: three building nominations of up to $15,500
  • River Falls, Pierce County: two individual property nominations up to $12,000
  • West Allis, Milwaukee County: three individual property nominations up to $14,000
  • Prairie du Chien, Crawford County: nomination of a religious complex and a nomination of a commercial historic district up to $18,000

Design Guidelines: 

  • New Richmond, St. Croix County: design guidelines for residential and commercial historic districts- up to $28,000

This subgrant program receives Federal financial assistance for identification and protection of historic
properties. Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act
of 1973, and the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, as amended, the U.S. Department of the
Interior prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, or age in its
federally assisted programs. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program,
activity, or facility as described above, or if you desire further information, please write to:

Office of Equal Opportunity
National Park Service
1849 C Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20240

Learn More

Have Questions

Contact Jason Tish by phone at 608-264-6512 or by email below: